Scholarship Director
John Desjardins
Biddeford-Saco Elks Lodge #1597

The Elks National Foundation provides more than $3.3 million in college scholarships each year to graduating high school seniors. Most of this is provided through the “Most Valuable Student,” Scholarship Program. These scholarships are open to any graduating high school senior.

Legacy Awards and Emergency Educational Fund Grants are also available, but only to children of Elk members. The application process and deadlines vary for each of the programs. All applications must go through a local Elks Lodge before reaching the Elks National Foundation office.

Here in Maine, the Maine Elks Association can award up to 7 scholarship winners in the Most Valuable Student Scholarship Program. The following six students will be awarded $1,000 per year for four years for a total scholarship award of $4,000.

Student School Sponsoring Lodge
Dixon Rand *Bristol Award Winner* John Bapst Memorial HS Bangor Lodge #244
Abigail Gonneville *Bristol Award Winner* Madawaska HS Presque Isle Lodge #1954
Evan Albert John Bapst Memorial HS Ellsworth Lodge #2743
Kate Newman Houlton HS Houlton Lodge #835
Timothy Cox Mr. Ararat HS Brunswick Lodge #2043
Arielle Leeman Morse HS Bath Lodge #934

2016-2017 Maine Elks Association Scholarships

The following students, as District Winners, will be awarded $2,000 each through the Maine Elks Association. Each student has received official notification and the terms of payment.

District Student Sponsoring Lodge
North Jake Koffman Bangor Lodge #244
North Emily Woodilla Bangor Lodge #244
Central Julian Marley Lewiston Lodge #371
Central Sara Taylor Farmington Lodge #2430
Coastal Jason Rutberg Brunswick Lodge #2043
Coastal Madelyn Adams Portland Lodge #188

The following students, as Local Lodge Winners, will be awarded $1,000 each through the Maine Elks Association.  Lodges that are excluded did not have any applicants for the year.

 Student Sponsoring Lodge
Carolyn Hodson Portland Lodge #188
Jordyn Judkins Rockland Lodge #1008
Caitlyn Tycz Brunswick Lodge #2043
Yasmin Farah Lewiston Lodge #371
Samantha Knox Waterville Lodge #905
Justine Drapeau Gardiner Lodge #1293
Page Cadorette Bangor Lodge #244
Lincoln Gallant Old Town Lodge #1287
Jacob Flewelling Presque Isle Lodge #1954
Kayla Toppin Ellsworth Lodge #2743
Jonathan Batcheldor Bath Lodge #934
Evan Wadsworth Biddeford-Saco Lodge #1597
Cassandra Pastorelli Wells Lodge #2738
Taylor Kruger Rumford Lodge #862
Alexis Bonenfant Augusta Lodge #964
Hunter Allen Skow-Madison Lodge #2531
Kevin McAfee Houlton Lodge #835
Regan Hallett Millinocket Lodge #1521
Cameron Morin Seb. Valley Lodge #2713

Link to MVS Info and Application  MVS Scholarship Program 

Access the Legacy Scholarship Application Online (Now Only Available Online)

Access the Emergency Educational Grants

For more information on the programs, contact your local Elks Lodge