News from the Maine Elks Association

Sanford Distributes Bikes for Drug Awareness!

On Tuesday, August 9th the Sanford Elks participated again this year in Sanford’s National Night Out event.

The lodge Drug Awareness Team distributed more than 150 bags full of school supplies to the children in attendance. This year we provided a few activities for attendees, including a cornhole toss game for all ages.  We also had on hand impairment goggles for the older children to attempt tossing the bean bags “impaired”.

A free raffle for bicycles was also held, with 16 children going home with new bikes!!  The smiles on their faces were priceless.

Thank you to all the supporters and volunteers who made the evening a success for the children!

MCCP Camping Weekend Update

The MCCP Camping Weekend from August 25-28, 2022, at Three Rivers in the Forks is expected to raise a significant amount of money for the Maine Elks Association’s Major Project, the Maine Children’s Cancer Program. The weekend is full of fun events for those attending. Many of the Lodges are providing food (fundraisers), as well as raffles and silent auctions. Here are some of the items in the raffles. Updates are taking place on the MCCP Weekend Facebook Group Page.

Here are some of the numbers that will be attending the event:

Augusta – 17
Bangor – 25
Bath – 16
Biddeford-Saco – 5
Farmington – 24
Gardiner – 24
Houlton – 7
Millinocket – 8
Old Town – 1
Portland – 1
Presque Isle – 2
Sanford – 6
Skowhegan – Madison – 25
Waterville – 28
Wells – 3

That would be 192 members x $25.00 = $4,800.00 to start. Last year, the event raised nearly $20,000 dollars.
It should be a great weekend to support a great cause! Hope to see you there!

New Drug Awareness Contest Rules Posted

MEA Drug Awareness Director Anthony Gause has posted the new rules for 2022-23 for the Drug Awareness Contests. The theme for this year is “One Pill Can Kill,” and will apply to the Coloring, Poster, Essay, and Video Contests. The purpose of the contests is to introduce children to the dangers of drugs in a fun, yet competitive way. The Coloring Contest is designed for students in the third grade, the Poster Contest for those in the fourth and fifth grade, and the Essay Contest is for those in the sixth through eighth grade. The Video contest is open to three age groups: Pre-High School, High School, and Postgraduate.

A package of everything a Lodge will need to conduct these contests has been posted here: DRUG AWARENESS CONTESTS

All Lodges are encouraged to contact the schools in their community and ask them to participate. For more information on the Drug Awareness Program, contact MEA Drug Awareness Director Anthony Gause

July 2022 Calendar Winners

DatePrizeNo.Name  Lodge
2nd50186Kris MillerBangor244
7th25515AnjaSpangenbergOld Orchard1470
8th251284LewisGordonMt Desert2743
10th50554StephanieIngrahamS. Portland188
12th25779GlenMcCallumOld Orchard1597
14th251153NormanHodgkins IIHancock2743
15th25107Robert BurnsHampden244
19th2584Linda LawrenceClinton905
22nd25694S . DoughtyOwls Head1008
31st5068RebeccaTheriaultChina Village905

New MCCP Fundraising Tool Introduced

At the Maine Elks Association State Meeting in Millinocket on August 7, 2022, MCCP Committee Director Michael Desjardins introduced a new fundraising tool to help Lodges spread the word about the State’s major project the Maine Children’s Cancer Program. He presented a two-sided brochure card that explains the program and offers a QR Code to allow for members and the public to make a contribution to the program through Peer-to-Peer OneCause Social Fundraising’s website for the Maine Elks Association. The website can be visited at: Here is what the new advertising card looks like:

One the website you will find several levels of giving, including:

  • Hope $25.00
  • Courage $50.00
  • Support $100.00
  • Perseverance $250.00
  • Strength $500.00

But you can donate any amount as well. You can make a donation through a company name or in memory of someone, and donations can be made using any major credit card. If you would like to obtain these cards for use in your Lodge, please contact MEA MCCP Director Michael Desjardins. We also encourage you to contribute to this worthy cause.

Support for Elks Disaster Relief Fund Needed

The Elks Disaster Relief Fund was set up to assist communities that have been affected by disasters. Over the past two years, several catastrophic disasters have ravaged many areas of this great nation. To help lighten the burden of those in need, the Elks Disaster Relief Program, Inc. has provided the following assistance:

  • Oklahoma Tornados and Floods ($25,00)
  • Nebraska Floods ($20,000)
  • Texas Floods ($25,000)
  • Oregon Fires ($25,000)
  • Texas Climate Issue ($25,000)
  • Tennessee Floods ($25,000)
  • Louisiana Floods & Hurricane ($25,000)
  • New Jersey Floods ($25,000)
  • Western Kentucky Floods and Tornado ($25,000)
  • Arkansas Floods ($10,000)
  • Colorado Fires ($25,000)
  • Montana Floods ($25,000)
  • Eastern Kentucky Floods ($10,000)

The Order needs your help to replenish the program. All Lodges and State Associations are encouraged to raise and donate to this most important program. Without continued support of this fund, the Order may not be able to continue to live up to our motto of Elks Care–Elks Share by easing the burden and lend a helping hand to the victims of major catastrophes. Donations to the program are tax deductible as allowed under 501 (c) 3 of the IRS Code, and you do not have to be a member to make a donation to the fund.

You can make a contribution online at :: Donate to the Elks Disaster Relief Program

If you prefer to send a check, all checks should be made payable to the “Elks Disaster Relief Fund, Inc. “

Contributions can be mailed to:
Benevolent & Protective Order of Elks
Attn: Bryan R. Klatt, Grand Secretary
2750 North Lakeview Avenue
Chicago, IL 60614-1889

The MEA is Going to Millinocket

On Saturday, August 6th State President Al Ingraham and First Lady Stephanie will be visiting the Millinocket Elks Lodge #1521, and the lodge has planned a special dinner to greet our first couple.

Then on Sunday, August 7th the lodge in Millinocket will host the Summer Meeting of the State Association, with Trustees meeting at 9:00 am and the general business meeting at 10:00 am.

Here’s the form for more information on area lodging, and to submit your preferences for the dinner.

Houlton Elks Welcome State President Albert Ingraham and First Lady Stephanie to their Christmas in July Event

On Saturday July 23rd, the Houlton Lodge of Elks #835 will be holding a par 3 golf tournament event at North Forks which is located on McSheffery Rd. in Houlton. Joining us for this event will be State President, Albert Ingraham and First Lady, Stephanie Ingraham. Registration opens at noon, tee off at 1:00pm. The tournament is random draw with a scramble format, there will be raffles and a BBQ following the event. All proceeds raised will go to Maine Children’s Cancer Program. For more information, contact the Houlton Elks Lodge #835

Skip to content