The Elks National Foundation recently announced its Legacy Scholarship Winners for the State of Maine. They are as follows:

StudentSponsoring Lodge
Samantha JohnsonHoulton Lodge #835
Delaney McDonoughPortland Lodge #188
Benjamin MorganSkowhegan-Madison Lodge #2531
Emma SmithSkowhegan-Madison Lodge #2531
Faith SjobergPresque Isle #1954

The Legacy Scholarships offered by the Elks National Foundation provide High School Seniors who are a child or grandchild of a living Elk member who is in good standing with their Lodge and has been a member for at least 3 years. The student receives $1,000 per year for four years to help pay for college. Winners of the Scholarship (excluding first-year) are also required to provide one year of service to the sponsoring Elk Lodge.  Here are some of the things that the students can do to meet the service requirement:

  • Rebound at a Hoop Shoot contest.
  • Judge scholarship applications for the next class of Elks scholars.
  • Serve with one of your Lodge’s Community Investment Program grant projects.
  • Help create an online presence for your Lodge through Facebook, Instagram, or Twitter.
  • Volunteer at a Lodge’s regularly scheduled fundraising meals and events.
  • Just ask! Lodges will often find things to do that they would never otherwise think of or be able to do themselves.
  • Help create an online presence for your Lodge through Facebook, Instagram, or Twitter.
  • Design an online newsletter/email campaign for the Lodge.
  • Organize a virtual food or supply drive to support community members in need.
  • Offer to scan photos or other files to help a Lodge move online.
  • Write a press release highlighting the Lodge’s good works for the local newspaper.
  • Reach out to vulnerable members of the Lodge by calling or writing cards,

For more information on ENF Scholarships, Contact MEA State Scholarship Director Lina Michaud.



Skip to content