MEA June Calendar Raffle

June MEA Calendar Raffle Winners:

Ticket # Name Amount
1 1253 James Nyman $ 25.00
2 1852 Robert Welch $ 25.00
3 771 Dennis Bowden $ 50.00
4 779 Robin Buckley $ 50.00
5 333 Robin Buckley $ 25.00
6 1260 Darlene Darling $ 25.00
7 865 Gregory Daniels $ 25.00
8 1972 Lyni McCreary $ 25.00
9 1782 Rachel Panik $ 25.00
10 1192 Sherri & Jeff Arsenault $ 50.00
11 103 Kamie & Sophie Peterson $ 50.00
12 1177 Kim Marie Howard $ 25.00
13 769 Suzan Bowers $ 25.00
14 37 Paul Applegate $ 100.00
15 1703 Charles Rowling III $ 25.00
16 298 James Brown $ 25.00
17 1245 Sharon Darling $ 50.00
18 35 Scott Cushing $ 50.00
19 1341 Richard Fournier $ 25.00
20 100 Sandra Welch $ 25.00
21 1029 Riley Pierce $ 25.00
22 1331 Andy Bolz $ 25.00
23 1082 Thomas West $ 25.00
24 119 Larry Torrey $ 50.00
25 269 Eileen Blobery $ 50.00
26 775 Dawn & Jim Brown $ 25.00
27 1214 Linda Neal $ 25.00
28 73 Ann Jagger $ 25.00
29 1541 Allan Timms $ 25.00
30 1145 Rick Griffin $ 25.00

May Calendar Raffle Winners

April Calendar Raffle Winners

March Calendar Raffle Winners

February Calendar Raffle Winners

January Calendar Raffle Winners

Flag Day 2017

The annual Flag Day ceremony will be held at Togus VA in the Theater chapel on June 14th at 10:00 p.m. MEA President David Anderson will lead the ceremony with the other state officers.

To make the ceremony an impressive one, we are asking for volunteer flag bearers to carry in the ceremonial flags during the event. All Exalted Rulers, other lodge officers, and members are encouraged to attend and participate.

The uniform of the day will be white dinner jackets for State Officers, and Lodge Jackets for others participating in the event. After the ceremony we will again ask for volunteers to go to the hospital and pay brief visits to the veterans and hand out American Flags to them.

The ceremony will be broadcast on closed-circuit TV so that all of the veterans that can’t come to the Theater will be able to view the ceremony on the televisions in their rooms.

The Theater, located down the hall from the chapel, will be available at 9:00 p.m. and practice for the event will begin as soon thereafter as people arrive. Please be at the Theater no later than 9:30 p.m. if you plan on participating in the ceremony.

If you plan to attend, or would like to be a flag bearer, please contact the event coordinator, Scott Gray, by calling his cell at 592-2477, or by e-mailing him at

In Memorium: Phil O’Brion

Obituary for Philip Edward O’Brion

AUGUSTA – Philip “Phil” Edward O’Brion, 81, of Jay, died Saturday evening, April 1, 2017, at the Togus VA Hospital in Augusta, surrounded by his loving family.

He was born on Jan. 19, 1936, in Portland, Maine, the son of William E. and Bertha V. (Bean) O’Brion. He graduated in 1954 from Deering High School and following one year at college, entered the US Coast Guard.
On April 4, 1970, he married Marceline Melcher in Jay. They worked together as owners of O’Brion’s Electronics/Radio Shack in Farmington , later known as Lynn-Hom Electronics Radio Shack.

After joining the Farmington Elks Lodge #2430 in 1983 his love and dedication to the Elks Association saw him achieve many accomplishments, including State President, State Elk of the Year, Lodge Elk of the Year, Past District Deputy Grand Exalted Ruler, Past Grand Lodge Committeeman, Area I Ritualistic Chairman, Lodge Treasurer, Grand Lodge Appointee Special Oversight Committee, and Honorary Life Member. As well as still holding positions of State Secretary and Lodge Secretary, up until his passing.

Through their involvement with the Elks, Phil and Marcie travelled throughout the United States, making many great friends and memories. He was a former member of the Jay Fire Dept. and was a member of the American Legion. He will be remembered for his gentlemanly ways and for his patriotism.

He was predeceased by his beloved wife, Marcie on Feb. 6, 2010. He is survived by his children: Linda Walter(David) of Readfield; Homer Ambrose (Louise) of Jay; Cheryl Smith and her significant other, Randy Staples of North Jay, Wendy Cain (Craig) of Florida; P. Edward O’Brion, Jr. of Hollis and Thomas O’Brion (Roberta) of Windham, several grand and great-grandchildren, nieces and nephews. He was predeceased by a sister, Dorothy Dobson.

The O’Brion family invites to share your condolences and tributes on his memorial wall at

Family and friends are invited to call at the Wiles Remembrance Center, 308 Franklin Rd. (Rte. 133), Wednesday evening 6-8 PM.

An Elks service, conducted by members of BPOE #2430 will be held during Wednesday evening visitation at 7PM.

Funeral services will be held at the Center on Thursday morning April 6, 2017 at 11 AM.

Following services, a comfort reception will be held at the Farmington Elks Lodge School St, West Farmington. All are welcome.

Remembrance gifts may be given to the Maine Children’s Cancer Program, c/o the Farmington Elks Lodge, PO Box 526, West Farmington, Maine  04992.

Notice to Lodge Secretaries

Under the direction of State President J. Andrew Bolz we have put together a team to cover Phil’s duties for the near future.

Frank Ricker Past State Secretary and current secretary for Sanford, Dwayne Guy current secretary for Rockland, Wayne Cotterly past secretary for Lewiston, Claris Ranger and John Nicholson. Frank will coordinate the team.

Lodge Secretaries please send the year end MEA Dues and Credential report you recently received from Phil directly to Frank by April 10. (Frank Ricker ℅ Sanford Elks Lodge 1470 P.O. Box 624 Sanford, Me. 04073)

Send all Car Raffle money and tickets directly to Jim Ferland (Jim Ferland 7 Littlefield Trail Sidney, Me. 04330)

ALL OTHER Correspondence send to Claris Ranger, P.O. Box 230, Farmington, ME 04294-0230.

Thank you all for your cooperation.